The worst part of the job search

So I’m currently sitting at my desk, waiting for a recruiter that was supposed to call at 3 pm. It’s now about 3:15 pm. I never know when to call it quits 100%. I figure I’ll contribute a bit to my blog. I think by 3:20, it’s clear that the call probably isn’t going to happen. I’ve spoken with this recruiter before and she’s usually on top of things so I’m going to assume extenuating circumstances have led to me being stood up.

One of the worst things about having a gap in your resume is people ask you “What have you been doing since your last job?” It’s an innocuous question and half the time, I don’t know what they are expecting the candidate to say. I don’t know if I’m reading too much into the question, but sometimes it seems like they assume that you’re sitting around eating butterscotch, waiting for a job just to drop into your lap.

No, most unemployed people are not just waiting around. They are aggressively getting their resumes out there, networking and taking phone calls, going on interviews. And then, a lot of time is spent (wasted) just waiting. And waiting. And then waiting some more.

What sucks is is the go go waaaait of job searching. On more than one occasion, a recruiter has been up my butt: let’s get a call on calendar today. Can the hiring manager talk to you today? Right after the interview, an email: how did it go? And then you respond, and it’s nothing. Silence. No updates. No nothing. It’s like when you’re at a club and some loser is grinding on you and when you finally turn around to deal with the guy, he zips off. Was it me? Did you expect something different? What is happening? Why the tease?

The worst was my recent experience with a placement agency. I’ve made a comment to my friend about placement agencies before and it was a little bit on the racist side so I won’t repeat that comment. I compared them to another group of people (which will be clear when I make another comparison). But if I had to describe placement agency recruiters, I would say they are basically the pimps of the corporate world. They don’t see you as a person. You are the product and as long as you bring in money, they don’t really care what happens to you. I went to see a recruiter at a placement agency on a Monday. She suggested a role at a well-known tech company that day. By the time I’d gotten home (2-3 hours later), I had one email asking what I thought about the role and another email saying, great! the hiring manager likes you, when can you interview? I finally interviewed and was confused by the situation (the hiring manager’s story didn’t quite match what I had learned from the recruiter) and when I got home (late) there was an email from the recruiter: how was it? I figured I would respond the next morning and at that point, there was another email: how was it???!!??? Then I responded and nothing. Sent an email the next week asking if there was any update. Nothing.

So that’s it from me. Have seen a career coach a couple of times and that has helped me with thinking through my value proposition and how I present myself at interviews. Have some irons in the fire. But still nothing yet. Just waiting.

— DOA

Leave a Reply

